What are the Consequences of Getting Your Third DUI in North Carolina?

Getting a DUI for the third time in North Carolina is serious business. Here are some of the DUI consequences you can expect in this situation.

North Carolina is tough on third-time DUI offenders. It’s going to take a lot of time and money to fix the situation.

You, too, can know the road that’s ahead of you. There might not even be a road at all, given the state of your driving privileges.

This is what you need to know about getting a DUI for the third time in North Carolina.


In North Carolina, DUI offenders are charged based on a sliding scale. The scale covers five levels of DUI with level I being the most and level V the least serious.

Any pre-existing DUI charges will increase the severity of the charge. Each DUI conviction qualifies as an aggravating factor that makes your DUI charge more serious.

Since this is your third drunk driving charge, the following is bound to happen.

DUI Consequences: License Revocation

North Carolina automatically and permanently revokes your license on your third DUI charge. You have to deal with a mandatory five-year suspension period.

Once this suspension period is up, you can petition the DMV to reinstate your driving privileges.

If your license is reinstated, the state will install an ignition interlock device (IIC) onto your car. The IIC can detect alcohol on your breath. From thereon, you must blow into the IIC every time you want to drive.

DUI offenders have to pay for the installation and monthly service charges for the IIC.

The DMV might only allow you to drive at certain times of the day or for certain reasons.

Criminal Consequences

Any offender who’s charged with a third DWI within seven years of the second one will most likely be sentenced as a level II offender.

If both DUI convictions occurred in the last seven years, then you’ll most likely be bumped up to a level I offender.

Unlike other levels of DUI convictions, the court does not suspend a jail sentence for level I or level II offenders. The jail time for a level II offender is anywhere from seven days to one year. Level I offenders can expect thirty days to two years in jail.

A driver who gets three DUI convictions in seven years can be charged with a felony or habitually driving while impaired. This is punishable by a one-year sentence.

After the jail sentence, you’ll undergo a probation period.

Money, Money, Money

You’re going to be spending a lot of money for a third-time DUI offense. You’ll get a minimum of a $2,000 fine, but you can expect to pay more, depending on your charges. An aggravated level I offender will have to pay $10,000 on top of a three-year prison sentence.

You’ll also have to pay money for drunk driving classes and substance abuse evaluations. Let’s not forget that IIC, either!

This Is Your Future

DUI consequences are serious and long-lasting. This gives you enough time to get help while you can.

From now on, this is the future you have to look forward to.

Learn more here about the legal nuances of North Carolina. You won’t regret it.

Related Posts:

How Much Will a DUI Really Cost You?

Did you know that getting a DUI involves much more than just spending a night in jail and losing your driver’s license? It’s true- DUI consequences can ruin your life, even if you weren’t involved in a motor vehicle accident.

A single DUI conviction can cost tens of thousands of dollars in fines and legal fees. Not to mention, some hidden costs that you may not recognize until it’s too late.

If you’d like to know more about the costs associated with DUI arrests and convictions, keep reading. We have all the information you need and more right here.

What Is a DUI?

In every state, it’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If an officer of the law suspects that you may be driving under the influence, they will pull you over, and possibly perform a field sobriety test. If they suspect that you are driving under the influence, they will arrest you.

DUI Consequences: What Happens After You’re Charged with a DUI?

After you are arrested under the suspicion of operating under the influence, you will be taken to the nearest jail or police station. They will take your mugshot and fingerprints.

You will be given a summons or ticket that tells you when to appear in court. In some states, you can then be released if someone pays your bail and drives you home, but in other states, this is now illegal.

What happens next depends on your court sentencing. If you are guilty, you will lose your driver’s license, spend some time in jail, pay a fine, go to mandatory classes, and complete any terms of your probation necessary. This sentencing can also cause other DUI conviction consequences, like affecting your employment status.

The Price of a DUI

Did you know that a single DWI conviction can cost up to $30,000? Although the lower average is closer to $10,000, depending on where you live and the nature of your crime, costs can skyrocket quickly. Let’s break it down.

Penalties and Fines: $300- $3,000

For a first time offender, you can count on a fine of somewhere from around $300 to $1,000. But if you’ve received a DUI before, it’s more likely to be three times that amount.

Towing: $100- $800

Depending on what company towed and is storing your vehicle, you could be looking at a charge of almost $1,000.

Treatment Program: $700

In many states, DUI offenders are required to enroll in a treatment program. This can cost around $700.

Court Fees: $800

Depending on the length of your court case, you will be charged a varying amount for the paperwork processing fees and other court fees.

Lawyer Fees: $2,500

Although a great lawyer can help you navigate the best possible outcome of a DUI, this comes at a high cost.

Restitution: $500

Some states require that offenders pay into a restitution fund to compensate victims. This fee can be around $500.

Insurance Costs: $2,500 +

If your car insurance company sees that you’re a high-risk client, your insurance premium will skyrocket for a number of years.

Wrapping Up

As you can see, DUI consequences and the costs associated with them can be truly life-altering. From court costs to insurance premiums to DUI attorney fees, the grand total can be truly shocking.

The best form of defense if you or someone you love is convicted of a DUI is to arm yourself with knowledge. Share the information above to spread awareness about the consequences of a DUI conviction.

Have any questions or comments? Feel free to contact us!