A bail bondsman helps your love one get back home as soon as possible when a loved one ends up in jail. Many have consider the possibility of becoming a bail bondsman in North Carolina but can't seem to find the resources that will get them started. A few steps must be followed to begin your career as a North Carolina bail bondsman:
Step 1: Meet The Minimum Bail Licensing Requirements
In order for you to be eligible to apply for a bail bondsman license in North Carolina, there are a few requirements, which include the following:
- You must be at least 21 years old
- You must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
- You cannot have any outstanding bail bonds
- You cannot have any misdemeanor drug violations within the last 24 months
- You need to hold a valid North Carolina driver’s license
- You cannot have any felony convictions
- You must be a resident of North Carolina for at least 6 months before you can apply for a license as a bail bondsman
- You cannot be employed as a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, other law enforcement officer, judicial official, attorney, parole officer, probation officer, jailer, assistant jailer, employee of the General Court of Justice, nor any other public employee assigned to duties relating to the administration of the criminal justice, nor the spouse of any such person.
Step 2: Find A Supervising Bail Bond Agent
All newly licensed agents are required by the state of North Carolina to be supervised during there first year by a licensed bail agent who has been licensed for a minimum of 2 years.
Step 3: Take A Bail Agent Pre-Licensing Course In North Carolina
Before you can apply for a North Carolina bail bondsman license, you need to first complete a two-day pre-licensing course. You can find these NC bail agent classes throughout the year with the times and dates listed on the North Carolina Bail Agents Association website.
Step 4: Complete A Set Of Fingerprints Within North Carolina
Every applicant of a bail bondsman license is required to complete a fingerprint background check. You can find the following by visiting the North Carolina Licensing Management System: Surety Bail Bondsman new license application, and the fingerprint release submission form that need to be filled out in order for you to complete the process correctly. Fingerprinting is what takes the longest to process. Therefore, it is always best to get this done way in advance, even before class, in order to expedite your license application.
When you go to a local law enforcement that has Live Scan electronic fingerprint services, you need to make sure to bring all the completed forms with you.
Step 5: Apply For A North Carolina Bail Bondsman License
Once you have successfully completed the bail bondsman class, you will be eligible to apply for a North Carolina bail bonds license. Additionally, you will need to set up an account through the North Carolina Department of Insurance’s website (NC License Management System) in order for you to apply for your initial license online.
While logged in to the management system, you will be able to send your supervisor bail agent an invite link in order for him/her to approve it. This process can be further explained by your supervisor.
Step 6: Take The North Carolina Exam For Bail Bondsman
After your license application is processed (processing about 60-90 days), you will receive an approval letter in the mail that is valid for 30 days. With this letter you will be able to schedule your final exam. In order for you to take the bail bond exam, you will need to pay an exam fee of $56.50.
If you end up failing the examination, you will be required to wait at least one year before you can start process all over again.
Obtaining your license can take some time, but the rewards are well worth the effort. Don’t hesitate to contact Amistad Bail Bonds for all of your questions. Whether you are preparing in becoming a bail bondsman in North Carolina or need to get a loved one out of jail, there is always a live person eager to help!