Driving With A Suspended License In North Carolina
Driving without a license is a serious crime that can cause some serious penalties for you. It is illegal, and when you are caught, you will have to face the consequences. Let’s take a look at what could happen if you are caught without your license.
Reasons For Having Your License Suspended
There are quite a few reasons that may have caused you to have your license revoked. The DMV and law expect that when you are issued a motor vehicle license, you will use it with respect and caution. If you don’t, they reserve the rights to revoke it at any time. Here is a list of some of the reasons why your license might be suspended or revoked.
- Collected enough points against your license that you have it pulled
- Too many traffic tickets
- Illegal transportation of alcoholic beverages
- Speeding over a certain limit
- Too many speeding tickets
- Reckless, aggressive driving
- Driving while intoxicated
- Refusing to take a chemical test to see if you are driving under the influence
- Manslaughter or negligent homicide
- If you have been convicted of a felony that involved your vehicle
- Failing to stop after a crash or running away from the scene
- Certain offenses relating to explosives
- Consecutive convictions of auto theft
- Fail to appear for a hearing or pay your fines
Driving While Your License Is Revoked
Driving while your license is revoked (DWLR) is a crime in most states. Under North Carolina law, it can earn you a fine and possibly jail time. You will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. Depending on your previous convictions, you could spend anywhere from one day to 120 days in jail, plus be charged with a steep fine. You also could have your vehicle seized and impounded. If it is impounded, you will have to pay to get it back.
Getting It Back
When your period of time is up, you can have your license back if you have followed the rules and restrictions set out for you. In North Carolina, you will have to pay a fee to reinstate your license. In most cases, the fee is $50, but if you were charged with driving while impaired, it could be $100.
If you find yourself facing jail time and need a way out, call Amistad Bail and Immigration Bonds. We can help you or someone you know. find your way out of your situation and get you on the way to legal help. Give us a call today to get started.